Mason’s WAC Committee

The WAC committee is a standing committee of the Faculty Senate, charged with overseeing the writing-intensive (WI) requirements in the major. As such, the committee works closely with the director of the Writing Across the Curriculum Program to articulate and refine the requirements for WI courses; to review WI syllabi to determine compliance with these requirements; to approve existing or new courses that degree programs propose to meet WI requirements; and to assist with activities and events related to writing across the curriculum.  Click here for the AY 2021 WAC Committee Guide.

The committee consists of an elected representative from each of the academic units, as well as ex officio members, including the Director of the WAC Program and others who are asked to serve based on their expertise and/or vested interest in student writing across the curriculum.

Faculty Senate Committee Members (college/school represented – end of term, spring)

  • Eric Anderson (CHSS – 2024)
  • Daniel Hanley (COS – 2024)
  • Ellen Laipson (SCHAR – 2024)
  • Laurie Miller (INTO Mason – 2024)
  • Virginia Blair (CPH – 2025)
  • Seth Hudson (CVPA – 2025)
  • Leslie La Croix (CEHD – 2025)
  • Cheryl Oetjen (CPH – 2025)
  • Katherine (Raven) Russell (CEC – 2025)
  • Ashley Yuckenberg (SBUS – 2025)
  • Thomas Polk, WAC Program Director, ex-officio

Consultants to the Committee

  • Peggy Brouse (CEC)
  • Carla Burns (CHSS)
  • Doug Eyman (CHSS)
  • Janet Ha Poirot (CHSS)
  • Anna Habib (Composition)
  • Michelle LaFrance (CHSS)
  • Susan Lawrence (Writing Center)
  • Eunmee Lee (Academic Resource Center, Mason Korea)
  • Lisa Lister (Composition)
  • Esther Namubiru (WAC Program)
  • Gina Polychronopoulos (OIEP)
  • Shelley Reid (Stearns Center for Teaching and Learning)
  • Greg Robinson (CVPA)
  • Ellen Rodgers (CEHD)
  • Jen Stevens (University Libraries)
  • Colleen Sweet (CHSS)
  • Bethany Usher (Office of Undergraduate Education)
  • Sarah Wittman (SBUS)
  • Courtney Wooten (Composition)